On the Uprisings in Jerusalem: Let Israel Renounce Violence

Shalom Rav

Photo: ynet.com Photo: ynet.com

During the course of the tragic violence coming out of Jerusalem in the past week, I’ve been reading with familiar frustration the American Jewish establishment’s predictable accusations of “Palestinian incitement.” But I must confess I’m finding the reactions of some liberal Jewish leaders to be even more infuriating.

One prominent rabbi, for instance, who I know personally and would surely describe herself as on the progressive side of the Israeli peace camp, recently wrote this on her Facebook page:

Punching back with violence as a response to violence is the easy reaction. Each side has much to point to on the other side — each claims the mantel of victim, each claims the justice of their violent response. It takes courage to commit to non violence and lasting justice for all.

This is, indeed, the liberal Jewish meme when it comes to these outbreaks of violence in Israel/Palestine: “the level playing…

View original post 495 more words

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Uprisings in Jerusalem: Let Israel Renounce Violence

  1. Sha'Tara says:

    I left a comment on this article on the other blog thinking it was this one. Good article, too true.

  2. I read today of a rocket launched from Gaza and then landing on some wasteland in Israel. I read a blog recently from a man I would think of as a generally sensitive and thoughtful individual He was talking about the Palestinians and saying, “We gave them Gaza and look how they are repaying us” which is such a blinded and one-sided view of the situation that I just shake my head. Most of all, I am increasingly concerned by growing head-steam of anger and wonder how much worse things can get.

    • gwpj says:

      A lot worse, Peter, until Israel gives up its dream of being the ONLY people in Palestine, and recognizes the Palestinians in Israel and the Occupied Territories as equal partners in Israel, and gives the others their own nation. In other words, when Israel gives up its racist Zionist ideas; if it doesn’t, I think it will destroy itself.

Leave a Reply

