Thoughts on the Passing of Rabbi Leonard Beerman, of Blessed Memory

This post fits in beautifully with my theme of war, war-making, peace, and a viable future for humankind and the planet. Be sure to follow the link to the LA Times profile of Rabbi Beerman.

Shalom Rav

With Rabbi Leonard Beerman, left, Los Angeles, 2/2014 With Rabbi Leonard Beerman, left, Los Angeles, 2/2014

I am devastated to learn of the passing of my dear friend and mentor, Rabbi Leonard Beerman z”l, who died early this morning at the age of 93. His death comes as a profound shock to those of us who knew and loved him. Despite his advanced age, Leonard maintained his extraordinary vigor and energy until very recent days.

Readers of this blog may recall my post on our joint speaking presentation in Los Angeles last February. It was such a tremendous honor for me hold this open conversation with him, in which we mutually explored the subject of “Progressive Politics from the Pulpit.”

Here’s what I wrote at the time:

As Rabbi Beerman has been one of my true rabbinical heroes for so many years, it was truly a thrill for me to share a podium with him as we shared our thoughts on…

View original post 742 more words

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on the Passing of Rabbi Leonard Beerman, of Blessed Memory

  1. Jerry grant says:

    Rabbi Beerman ,while being a strong voice for Palestinian rights,never to my knowledge,worked with those calling for the destruction of Israel,nor propagandized the blood libel that is rabbi rosens hallmark…but then again beerman was a member of the JVP crowd…in any case may he rest in peace

Leave a Reply

