Internalized Oppression

As you know by now, I am not a supporter of Israel and its policies and behavior toward the Palestinian people in the Occupied Territories, within Israel itself, and throughout the world. Israel’s behavior is contemptuous and grotesquely abusive. It is also reminiscent of the way the US Government has treated American Indians from the beginning. Before that, it was the way European settlers treated the native populations they came in contact with. If you were Indian, you were either pushed aside or eliminated.

As I read Dr. Samah Jabr’s article, I reflected on the 41 years I spent as a clinical social worker and counselor. I have worked with too many abusive families to miss the similarities with the way Israel treats its non-Jewish citizens and neighbors. I am filled with horror. The consequences of living under this kind of oppression is sinister, ugly and leaves people deeply scarred emotionally, as Dr. Jabr illustrates.

Internalized oppression is like PTSD, fed by memories, habits, and daily encounters with the oppressors. Yet the oppressors continue to ignore the victims. Worse, the oppressors, which includes the US government, imply that their situation is the fault of the victims.  For the victims, the experience is bleak.

The monstrous way Israel treats Palestinians, and the  way my government deliberately ignores the whole thing and refuses to intervene is both horrifying and inexcusable. Not only are we involved in breaking international law by doing nothing, we are violating every standard of morality and ethics. At the same time, we pretend to be moral leaders in the world. Everyone knows by now what a pathetic lie this is.

Outrageous? Yet Mr. Obama and his government does nothing but attack the Palestinians for complaining. I try to control my feelings, but I cannot. I am outraged and angry. To read Dr. Samah Jabr’s article, click on the link below.

http://www.palestinechronicle.com/internalized-oppression-yet-another-loss-for-an-occupied-nation/#.Uy9hydyX2Ml

Then please take some action that can contribute to changing this appalling situation.

 

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

